How To Import a PDF Into MiTek Sapphire

Some of you may ask; why would I want to import a PDF into Sapphire?  Why to be proactive of course!

I do it for a few reasons:

  • I like to have the floor plan in Sapphire, so I can refer to details and elevations on my second monitor.
  • I also do it when I design at a computer with only one monitor, because it keeps me from flipping back and forth between programs.
  • I know that I am not able to snap to points, but this is not my objective.  I like to have the PDF in the background to help me easily identify mistakes.

This is a pretty simple process; here are the steps:

1. Create your job in MiTek Sapphire.

2. Right click on the Level, and choose Insert. This will bring up the File Open dialog box.  Navigate to and open the PDF file.

how-to-import-a-PDF-into-MiTek-Sapphire-1

3. The Import PDF Background dialog box will open. Assign sheets to each level that you would like to import a PDF for.

how-to-import-a-PDF-into-MiTek-Sapphire-2

4. Now that the PDF is in Sapphire, it will need to be scaled.  I like to scale to the largest dimension.

how-to-import-a-PDF-into-MiTek-Sapphire-3

5. The plan now needs to be moved to the model orgin in Sapphire.

how-to-import-a-PDF-into-MiTek-Sapphire-4

6. Repeat this for any other levels that you imported a PDF into. Voila! You now have a PDF in Sapphire.

how-to-import-a-PDF-into-MiTek-Sapphire-5

This is a real quick way to double-check yourself before you get too far into a project. By taking a few minutes early on, you can prevent hours of re-work later, or worse…an error.

I hope you found this useful! We are striving to provide value to you, our reader. Please let us know if there are any other topics you would like us to tackle. Stay tuned for the next time-saving tip!

Tyler Martinez – Design Professional

Gould Design, Inc.