Transitioning Military Members: 5 Reasons They Would Fit into Your Company

transitioning-military

What comes to your mind when someone mentions companies like Wal-Mart, JP Morgan/Chase, and Amazon.com? I know that I would have said “Big Money”. I also would say that they are not even in the same league. I would be right. Yet I would also be wrong. You see these are just a few of many companies that are hiring returning and transitioning veterans. According to statistics released by the Department of Veterans Affairs, between the years of 2000 and 2011 over 65,000 servicemen and women have either been discharged or have transitioned out of the military to the civilian sector.

Visit: www.va.gov for more information.

So as a business person in today’s economy and job market, would you hire a veteran? Before you answer that, let me just give you some insight into the mind of a business owner who happens to be a transitioning veteran. I was recently discharged from the military after serving 14 months in Afghanistan.

Coming home is extremely difficult due to many factors, the number one being trying to find employment and financial security. After 20+ years of serving my country and its people, I was shocked at the reality confronting me. I actually had several companies tell me that they would not hire me because I openly disclosed the fact that I am being treated for Post Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD).

Now I am being judged unfavorably because of the realities of serving my country? Something isn’t right here. I was shocked to think that a lot of people put a label onto a veteran that has been diagnosed with PTSD.

Visit: www.ptsd.va.gov for more information

So to answer the question would I hire a veteran? I would. Here are the five main reasons that as an employer why I would hire a transitioning military member.

1. Dedication – Veterans have been trained from day one to be dedicated to not only the unit and its members but also to the country and what it stands for. This means that it will be a lot easier for them to become a dedicated member of your company’s team.

2. Loyalty – The word says it all. They are not only loyal to their job at hand but also to their fellow co-workers. You can rest assured that they will project a positive image of not only your product but your organization as well.

3. Trainability – They have already proven that they can be trained but that they actually crave the training. This makes it extremely easier to get them on board and ready to go.

4. Core Values – Ever member of the Armed Forces, no matter what branch, has been taught their branches version of core values. For the US Marine they are: Honor, Courage and Commitment. For the Army soldier they are: Loyalty, Duty, Respect, Selfless Service, Honor, Integrity and Personal Courage. These all say a lot about the individual you are bringing into your company.

5. Communication – This is the key to any business whether it is the military or your company. These potential employees are taught not only verbal, but written skills that are key to your organization and its future.

So I ask you, if companies like Bank of America, AT&T, Verizon and Tamko Building Products Incorporated can trust in veterans why shouldn’t I? After all, I trust them to protect my life, freedom and security right?

Bill Clemmer – Design Trainee

Gould Design, Inc.