6 Tips on How to Best Manage your Time While Working at Home

work-at-home1

Does this image look familiar? If you have a family and try to work at home it can be difficult. I have some suggestions on how to go from the kid’s jungle gym to a happy stress free work at home environment.

work-at-home2

You can be as happy as this gentleman if you set some guidelines. I know you’re thinking, “No way, really?” I will let you in on a few simple steps that have helped me to be able to start my own business from home. Here are my practices.

1. Set aside space for your office: Keep your office and home as separate as possible.  Make it a “comfortable” workspace. You should want to go to this office every day.  Also keep it organized. This makes transitioning from family member to business person a lot easier and more enjoyable.

2. Make regular work hours: Set yourself up for success. When you worked outside of the home you had hours or a schedule. The same should be for you at your home office. I work while my family is at work and school. This allows me to have a quiet stress free environment. You may be a night owl, that’s ok too if that what works for you. No matter what try to stick to your “work hours”  as much as possible.

3. Make your work hours known: Setting work hours helps to eliminate or reduce the distractions that come from working at home.  If you have family home during your hours it is vital that you let them know that you are at work, not at home.  This way everyone will know when exactly you are working and can schedule other activities accordingly. You need to be firm with your loved ones and friends, let them know you are working and unless their hair is falling out or the house is on fire you are not to be interrupted.

4. Remember to take breaks: When you worked in an outside office you knew when you needed a break from coworkers or the desk However, working from home you can get caught up in your work and the next thing you know hours have gone by. I set a timer either on my phone or a kitchen timer. When it goes off i know that I need a break. If you don’t take breaks then you can become tired causing your productivity to decline. Not a good thing for a business.

5. Find your motivation: working from home can be great. You now have the freedom that you lacked at an outside office. You must be internally driven to succeed. So you need to find that inner drive that keeps you going. For me it is my family. I know that when they get home I’m there for them both physically and financially.

6. WATCH OUT FOR THE PROCRASTINATION MONSTER: This is a problem both in an outside office and at home. The main problem is that by the time you have realized you procrastinated you have lost a lot of precious time and money.  I know I have suffered from this “monster” most of my life. So to overcome this I have a set schedule and routine. By doing this you are not only more productive but you easily defeat the “Procrastination monster” at its own game.

There you have it my “secret” to my own success. I hope my tips can help you succeed in all of your endeavors.

Bill Clemmer- Design Trainee

Gould Design Inc.