Crafting Your Building Materials the Way There Were Intended

Sometimes it is the most unusual moments that shine the most light. The key is to be paying attention. How many of us actually pay attention? Or live in the moment? Our children grow up and we get old and we wonder: Where did the time go?

As I was walking from the parking lot to EverBank Field yesterday with my son and my father in-law, I noticed a woman frantically searching for something. Around 10 steps later, my son notices a sapphire earring stuck in his shoe. He hands it to me, and suddenly, I knew what this woman was looking for.

So I walked back and smiled and gave it to her. Needless to say, she was extremely grateful. It had to have been a 2 carat (or more) gem. Sure I could have kept it, but why? It was attest from my Creator to see how I was using my building materials.

Divine-Mission

It was at that moment, I knew why I was there. You see, I am not a sports fan anymore. I like to say “I gave up sports when I got married”, as I must put things in proper perspective. I wasn’t there to watch the Jacksonville Jaguars go to 0-7 as they get trounced by the San Diego Chargers 24-6. Sure I know about sports, but they just aren’t that important in the grand scheme of things.

It was my very first NFL game. I only went because my son asked me too. It was his first NFL game also. It was a moment we both can remember forever. I will most remember the earring and the book my son brought about the Baal Shem Tov. I mean how many kids bring a book to read at an NFL game? Especially a book about the founder of Hasidic Judaism?

Ball-Shem-Tov_Jacksonville-Jaguars

The character traits, mental demeanor and physical traits we have been provided with came from Above. We were provided with raw building materials to construct a house worthy of His dwelling. This is our job here on earth, to refine our materials into the destined shape. I can only do this by living the lifestyle He wants me to live, by paying attention to my surroundings and looking for ways to make the world a better place.

Much like going to the lumberyard to purchase lumber, plywood, nails and all the other necessities for erecting a house, all these materials are in a common form. No, they aren’t raw, as the lumber mills or what have you, formed them into the state of which you purchased. Our physical and spiritual materials are not “raw” either, yet neither are they “finished” by any means. Anyone who tells you that they have finished building their dwelling place for G-d is mistaken.

I am sure many others would have kept the earring, thinking no one knew. This thought never even crossed my mind. My Creator would have known. My son would have known. I must be willing to emulate the proper behavior if I wish to cultivate it. This is just one example how to craft my building materials into a dwelling for Him. And it all started with living in the moment and paying attention to my surroundings. I challenge you to do the same.

Christopher Gould – President

Gould Design, Inc.