Tags

, ,


2 Keys Items I discovered About Working At Home

This past summer I began performing work for Gould Design, Inc. as a remote truss designer. The idea of being able to work from home doing what you love, to me is simply awesome. For me it was an even better because my wife and I just had our 1st child. With all the technology out there, it just makes sense.

This has given me the opportunity to provide for my family while being about to stay home part-time and watch my son grow up. I remember thinking and telling my wife when I first started that it would be easy to separate the home life; working around the house and things like that, from work. I couldn’t have been more wrong! It didn’t help that I have been known to be a procrastinator as well.

At my day job, which I am also a truss designer, I:

  1. Have an allotted amount of time to get things done
  2. Know what I have to do to get them done in that amount of time

Working at home for yourself brings on a whole new element that if you aren’t careful can unravel in the blink of an eye. The set up I originally had, my “office” was upstairs on the kitchen table. At first this was nice because if my wife needed anything I could jump on it and get it done. Or if my son was crying or wanted to play I was right there. I would do all this not thinking twice or about the work that I had to get done. This in turn would lead to very late nights designing.

work-from-home

I eventually had enough of the scrambling. I had to change the way I went about I working at home. I realized that I must:

  1. Move my “office” downstairs to our actual home office. Why I didn’t just do that in the beginning?!?! This change alone allowed me to get much more work done and faster as I wasn’t interrupted and could actually concentrate I what I was doing.
  2. Establishing work hours with my wife. Specific work hours which, I wasn’t to be bugged unless it was an emergency or she needed help. This helped a lot as well. Obviously this doesn’t happen all the time, but for the most part it does and it works very well.

After these 2 things were done in my house, it was like a whole new “world.” I could actually design and get things done on time without the scrambling because I had burned up all the time doing other things. Hopefully they can help you out as well.

What methods have you found to help you?

Design Team Member

Gould Design, Inc.