Tags

, , ,


An Old Dog Can Learn New Tricks: What I Have Learned in Professional Development

Everyone has heard the old saying, “You can’t teach an old dog new tricks!” Well I am here to tell you that in my case this is not at all true.  Since coming on board as a member of Gould Design, Inc. this old dog has learned new tricks.

old-dog-new-tricks

The first major tasks I had to master were:

  • New technology
  • New software

I found that this could be an overwhelming concept. I asked myself, “I am 42 years old how can I learn all of this material?” Well let me tell you the members and staff of GDI has a novel approach to teaching the technological newbie.

The owner and founder, Christopher Gould, has in place and outstanding team. They took me under their wing and have helped me every step of the way. I also have picked up some new tricks of my own.

For instance, Time Management. Man was I ever in need of improvement there. I have been taught that this is the key to making me a successful entrepreneur.  When it comes to technology it’s a battle. I have been taught that you need to just take your time and learn as you go. Don’t be afraid to ask questions. I am always reminded that the only dumb question s the one that I don’t ask.

The team here at GDI believes in a lot of outstanding practices and principles. The one that I find the most comforting is their “Pay It Forward” attitude. They have taught me that even if I only help one person in my life that it will also help me. For complete information on the Pay It Forward Foundation, click here.

I would like to take this opportunity to thank the GDI professional team for their professionalism, outstanding attitude and their go get them attitude.

Bill Clemmer – Design Trainee

Gould Design, Inc.