Professional Development – MiTek: A Trick My Day Job Never Taught Me That GDI Did – Part 1

As a trainee with Gould Design, Inc., I am left wondering how I can receive better training across the internet, than I can at my full-time job. When I came to GDI, I was informed that I would be required to enter its Professional Development program, in order to be considered for the team. Of course, I was left wondering why I needed this, since I already had real-time experience. I entered GDI’s Professional Development program in July 2013, at the recommendation of a former colleague of mine, who is already a team member.

Professional-Development

In total, I have been designing for 7 years (4 as a truss designer and 3 as a EWP floor designer) on the West Coast of the United States. My time has been spent working with Javelin and MiTek. For those of you who do not know what Javelin is, it is the same thing as Sapphire only for EWP and is a huge upgrade over TJ-Xpert. In those years I have learned a lot and continue to learn more every day.

With that said, being with Gould Design, Inc. for only a couple of months, I have already learned some valuable things that I wished I would have learned a long time ago. The skills I am learning are making my day job more profitable! Here is a very valuable tip/trick that I have learned.

  • Cladding offsets in the wall input menu
    • As crazy as it sounds, I was never shown this and how it works. So naturally I always drew the walls the hard way (lots of math) when dimensions weren’t given from stud to stud. We don’t do a lot of homes with brick here, as that’s a dying option for homes. But when we do, it’s usually gigantic customs. This one tip has saved me several hours per week of time at my day job, making me more effective and productive!

You can see just how valuable this tip is. It is making my company more profitable. I was able to pass this tip on to a co-worker who has been using Javelin for 10yrs+. He was even in on the testing phases of the software when it was first developed and knows it inside and out, but yet, did not know about this. By sharing it with him, at a minimum, I doubled the productivity increase.

While this may not seem like a big deal to most of you, it was pretty huge for me. What usually took most of my time drawing walls because I would have to redraw them several times due to adding or subtracting a wrong dimension now takes a fraction of the time.

GDI has helped me so much in such a short period of time. I am excited about what else they will teach me! In my next blog post, I will share some more skills I have acquired and knowledge that has been enhanced.

Design Trainee (Part-Time)

Gould Design, Inc.