Tags

,


How Are You Rewarded For Your Performance? Part 2

In my one year of designing with GDI, I have come to know that there are numerous ways that we, as truss designers, are rewarded for our hard work. There are the praises that we get sent, whether it be on Skype, email, text or phone call. If we did a good job on something Christopher Gould, President of Gould Design, Inc., is sure to let us know. There are also the “drops” in our proverbial bucket. These are personalized messages from Christopher to let us know just how good a job we are doing. Click here for more information on bucket drops. There are also the monetary things, such as; performance bonuses and compensation increases.

recognition

To me, the most important way to be shown gratitude or praise for ones work are the drops or messages of recognition. Don’t get me wrong; bonuses and raises are great too, but can money really tell you just how good you’re doing versus someone you respect telling you how well you are performing? To me that’s why praise affects me more. In my previous design position with another company, I can count on one hand, maybe even a few fingers that a boss or higher up told me I was doing a good job.

Naturally, when I started with GDI I was taken a back by all the praise and recognition I was getting. I thought to myself, this guy’s crazy. But I will tell you right now, when you’re having a bad week and nothing you seem to do is right, hearing you did a good job on one thing can almost make everything else “go away.” I have never been a guy that wanted or needed a pat on the back and someone saying “good job sonny” every time I did something right and maybe that’s because it was never really there. I will tell you this, it has made me feel a lot better about things even outside of work and made me feel like I was part of a team and not just a pawn in the game.

How are you rewarded? I would love to hear your comments!

Read part 1 in this series here.

Stay tuned for part 3 in this series.

Zach Failing – Design Professional

Gould Design, Inc.