2 Reasons Why Everyone Needs a Mentor

What is mentoring? Mentoring is “Mentoring is most often defined as a professional relationship in which an experienced person (the mentor) assists another (the mentoree) in developing specific skills and knowledge that will enhance the less-experienced person’s professional and personal growth”. Click here to see this and much more from Management Mentors.

mentoring-advice

At every stage in life, be it education or career we all need a mentor; a person with experience that guides you in the right direction.  It is unfortunate, but many underestimate the importance of a good mentor.  Too often we are quick to think that we “know all” and therefore do not seek the guidance of others.

Mentors are on the outside looking in and many times they see things that we do not. Why? Because identifying your own shortcomings is not an easy task. It is practically impossible.

Reduce mistakes by learning new perspectives

By working with co-workers who are more experienced than I am, I learn new ways of getting the task accomplished. Throughout his process, I have been able to learn new ideas and thought processes on how to complete tasks in the workforce.  Keeping an open mind and trying out new ideas has led me to a more successful career by satisfying higher management and client needs.

mentor-descriptions

Eliminate weakness by providing encouragement

I have been lucky to have had mentors that have motivated me and have kept me on the right track especially through the rough patches in personal or professional life. Words of wisdom and constructive criticism have allowed me to turn my weaknesses into strengths. However, this was not possible until they were identified! It was during the toughest moments that my mentors have been able to motivate me to keep moving forward.

I have been fortunate in the past to have had mentors that have enriched my life on a personal and professional level. The key to having success with your mentor is to be open and honest. When we close ourselves off to constructive criticism or when we put blinders up so that we do not see another way of completing a task we are unable to receive the full benefit of having a mentor.

mentorship-empowerment

Do you have a mentor? In what way have they helped you?

Denise Dove – Design Professional

Gould Design, Inc.