Tags

, , , , ,


Professional Development – Truss Design: A Trick My Day Job Never Taught Me That GDI Did – Part 18

I am very much a beginner in the engineered wood product world. I have always been a physical type of person, who made my way by the sweat of my brow and the strength of my arm.

As soon as I came onboard with Gould Design, Inc. (GDI), I was introduced to the MiTek software & MiTek University. Never have I been involved with such a company like GDI. The positive energy, the team effort, and the village mentality, all come together for one amazing and exhilarating training experience.

When I first started even the easiest jobs were challenging; for example:

truss-design-training-1

As I am moving through the training process of Professional Development, I am discovering some great tools in the software at my disposal. One of these extremely useful tools is the 3D view. This allows me to actually build a building without lifting a board or a nail gun. In your own little 3D world you have the ability to construct a building and see it comes to life. See the representation of the 3D view below.

truss-design-training-2

If for any reason you needed a closer look at any particular component, you could use the Toggle Section View tool. It allows you to take your view and slice it across either side, then, if you need to, you may cut from the other side to get an even closer look!

The Extend to a line tool has become a very valuable tool to me as a new designer. It is imperative in changes made to elements input into plans.

The Scanline Dimension Tool quickly shows measurements for your layout in the design.

truss-design-training-3

These are just a few of the many new things I have learned, not to mention the personal growth I have experienced being a part of the GDI team. There are so many things left to learn, but with the support of my teammates, I know there is no way for me to fail. To be a quitter is not in my vocabulary. I am a finisher! I cannot wait until the day arrives that I will be able to say, “I am a truss designer.”

What are you doing today to change your tomorrow?

You can read Part 1 in this series here.

You can read Part 2 in this series here.

You can read Part 3 in this series here.

You can read Part 4 in this series here.

You can read Part 5 in this series here.

You can read Part 6 in this series here.

You can read Part 7 in this series here.

You can read Part 8 in this series here.

You can read Part 9 in this series here.

You can read Part 10 in this series here.

You can read Part 11 in this series here.

You can read Part 12 in this series here.

You can read Part 13 in this series here.

You can read Part 14 in this series here.

You can read Part 15 in this series here.

You can read Part 16 in this series here.

You can read Part 17 in this series here.

Stay tuned for Part 19.

Tim McKnight – Design Trainee

Gould Design, Inc.