Tags

,


Life Lessons Acquired Through Training for Truss Design

Since joining Gould Design, Inc. (GDI) in June of 2015, the list of new things I have been exposed to is vast. It is easy to come into a situation where you feel you are more than comfortable and say to yourself that this will be easy. Not so with GDI’s Professional Development (PD) program. The first week was tough on me. I knew that and Christopher (my manager) also noticed my frustration. And then…..it hit me! Perspective!

truss-perspective

Christopher sent me a book titled “How Full Is Your Bucket?” This book changed my perspective on everything from that point on. And when I say “everything”, I mean “EVERYTHING”. The first thing I did after finishing the book was to make a list of priorities and give them a level of importance. Here is my list:

  • Be a good husband
  • Be a good father
  • Be a good listener
  • Look for the strengths in all people I encounter
  • Utilize the strengths in people to reinforce those qualities in them
  • Take the feedback from those people to fuel my fire
  • Accept a person’s weaknesses and promote their strengths, including my own
  • Apply what I gain from the before mentioned items to my work related tasks

So what does all of that have to do with truss design? Everything! If encounters with my family, friends and strangers are a positive experience, my time in every other aspect would become more productive. I then took this approach to the design assignments from PD. I welcomed the challenges of the unknown and thrived on the feedback I received from Christopher. I began to understand that his goal was to build upon what I was doing well and apply those strengths to the items giving me grief. I accepted that anybody in any situation has the ability to learn and grow. This applies to personal interactions and work related tasks alike.

So what does this all mean? Opening your mind is the first and most important step to becoming better at anything you come in contact with. It changes the frustration of new and seemingly difficult tasks into challenges to be conquered. It means understanding that there is more to finding a solution to a given challenge than just knowing the answer. For example, now when I tell my wife I appreciate her dedication to being a great mother to our children, it has more to do with me understanding her need to know that I do think she is the greatest mom on earth, not just good at cooking meals and coordinating four busy schedules.

To sum it all up, by removing the haze of preconceived notions and opening my mind to learning new ways to look at EVERYTHING, made working through Professional Development a rewarding and fulfilling experience. These are all skills that will become vital in designing components for the wide variety of GDI’s clients.

Jake Caufield – Design Professional

Gould Design, Inc.