How Does Your Company’s Delegation Flow Chart Work?

Delegation is an essential component in any successful and thriving business model. Simply stated, without proper delegation, no business can grow. This is a well-known fact. Why is it such a difficult obstacle for so many managers then? Are they reluctant to grow their company? Why all the hesitation to delegate?

Could it be that management fears one of more of the following?

  • Loss of control
  • Lack of trust
  • Ineptitude
  • Loss of quality
  • Lack of protocol/procedures
  • Inability to perform
  • Perception

For many companies, the flow chart of delegation looks much like this.

Business-Flow-Chart

Upper management dumps the shabby work on the people below them, who dump it on their subordinates. You get the idea. (I apologize for the rather graphic picture, but it sure did fit!) Is this how effective delegation works? Ummm…NO!

When I first started my own business, I had no intention of taking it to where it is today. Never did I intend to attract a big-time strategic partner like MiTek to be its go-to design resource. Never did I expect to create a sought-after training program. I simply got tired of working for people who did not appreciate me and kept “dumping” garbage on my shoulders. Time rolled on and voila! I had more projects than I could handle and was working 100+ hours a week.

Then one day, with a supreme moment of clarity, I realized that no matter how hard I worked, I was only going to be 100%. That if I brought on some more help to design for my clients and took a portion of the revenue, I could double or triple my output and not have to say no to any new projects. Well I did…that was year 4. Now, as I look back while approaching year 10, I realize how important delegation truly was.

I simply could not:

  • Be everywhere
  • Do everything
  • Take every call
  • Answer every email
  • Design every job
  • Write every criteria
  • Train every new team member
  • Etc., etc.

Problem was; I was a poor delegator. I wanted to do everything myself. That way it would be “right”, right? I wanted to control the outcome. I was blind to my own faults. I could not see past the end of my nose!

So what did I do? How did I learn this? Simple; I went to the experts. I contacted my local Growth Coach, named Dave Josephson. This guy changed my life…and my business…forever. He taught me how to effectively delegate. Important lesson to learn for a father of 4 and a design team of a couple dozen skilled professionals.

I have news for some of you; delegating is not giving someone a task and hovering over their shoulder saying “Is it ready yet?” It is not assigning a task and asking them to do it YOUR way. It is not telling someone HOW to get it done. It is conveying WHAT you are looking for and allowing them to fashion it to meet the objective.

Some famous quotes on delegation for some admirable leaders in history:

“Surround yourself with the best people you can find, delegate authority, and don’t interfere as long as the policy you’ve decided upon is being carried out.” – Ronald Reagan

“People and organizations don’t grow much without delegation and completed staff work because they are confined to the capacities of the boss and reflect both personal strengths and weaknesses.” – Stephen Covey

“Because our organization has grown so much and in so many different ways, the delegation process places responsibility and authority on the shoulders of people you can watch grow and watch the way they treat others.” – Vince McMahon

“When things go wrong in your command, start searching for the reason in increasingly large circles around your own desk.” – Gen. Bruce Clarke

“Never tell people how to do things. Tell them what to do and they will surprise you with their ingenuity.” – Gen. George S. Patton

“No man will make a great leader who wants to do it all himself, or to get all the credit for doing it.” – Andrew Carnegie

While I have not perfected the art of delegation, I am far better off than I was 6 years ago. My goal for 2015 was to delegate the day-to-day management of my company to a qualified individual with the type of integrity my company is known for. Well guess what? I succeeded.

So I ask you, dear reader: How does your company’s delegation flow chart work?

Christopher Gould – President

Gould Design, Inc.