How to Increase Your Productivity in MiTek by Using the Search & View Window

The search and view window in MiTek’s Sapphire program is one of the most powerful tools for designers that I have ever seen. If you aren’t using it you should be and if you are using it check out some of these time savers and practical uses of the Search & View (S&V) Window.

DOES IT TAKE UP TOO MUCH SPACE? OR CONSTANTLY FLYING OPEN FROM AUTOHIDE?

One of the first things I do is turn the “autohide” feature off. I don’t like that the window flys open by accident quite often when my mouse touches it. I prefer to keep it pinned to the bottom of my screen and I keep the window squeezed down to the smallest size. When I am ready to use it I can quickly resize the window to the size I need at the moment or pull the window off to my other monitor. Am I the only who gets annoyed with this?

mitek-search-view-1

CREATE WALL HATCH LEGENDS QUICKLY AND ACCURATELY

The S&V Window allows you to sort and select walls by height. Once I have all of one height selected I go to “drawing and markup” and “hatching.” Then I select the properties for whatever hatch I want for those walls and all the walls of that hatch get marked the same. I don’t mislabel walls this way and I don’t leave walls out.

mitek-search-view-2

SELECT TRUSSES BY A PARTICULAR PROPERTY

In this example I have selected the trusses by type. I have selected all the trusses that are piggy back base trusses.

mitek-search-view-3

In the region where this job is being built the base trusses are loaded differently. Additionally, the flat top chords are not dropped on these trusses so I won’t have the verticals moved under the sloping top chord when I send them to engineering. I will adjust my job loading in engineering when I send this “batch” of trusses over.

In this way I can quickly and accurately send all of a particular type of truss to engineering with a certain property. Perhaps on a commercial job a particular group of floor trusses has a different loading than others or you want your “hip” trusses that have dropped flat top chords to have the verticals moved under the sloping top chords. There are a lot of possibilities here and a lot of different fields to sort by.

TAKING ALL THE FIGHT OUT OF HANGER CALL OUT

One of my favorite things to use the S&V window for is selection of hangers. I can sort all the connectors by either hanger or fastener. I can select all the hangers of a particular label very quickly and accurately. When I am done calling out all my hangers I will usually select all the hangers still labeled “undesigned” and assign them to the “modeled only” layer so they are hidden from view. I no longer have to hunt all around my layout looking for them. In just a couple clicks I can hide them all or change from one hanger to another.

mitek-search-view-4

There are many, many great ways to unleash the power of this tool. I hope this article has given you a feel for what it can do if used. MiTek continues to improve on their industry leading software. If you are not keeping up with the latest features, you are missing the boat! It seems the bigger and more complex the job the more powerful it becomes. I continue to find more and more great ways to use this and wonder where it was all my life!

Please comment and let me know how you use the Search and View Window. How has it helped you become more productive?

Rick Walker – Project Manager

Gould Design, Inc.