A “One Size Fits All” Approach to MiTek

 A couple of weeks ago, a friend and I were doing some repairs to his vehicle. In the process, I knocked the cap I was wearing off of my head.  As I reached down to retrieve it, a tag with the words, “One Size Fits All” was glaring back at me.  I picked up the cap and handed it to my 6’8” 350lb friend and said “Try this on”.  After a few adjustments by him and a few cheap shots by me, (Isn’t that what friends are for?) I found that one size does not fit all.

mitek-fits-allAs I began to contemplate the one size fits all label, I could not think of many products that truly fit in this category. One did pop into my head that I have been using extensively as I polish my design skill set. That one thing that seems to “fit all” is the MiTek software.

When I first started MiTek University, I had limited experience with the MiTek program. I have been framing and building houses for many years, but has limited knowledge of what it took to get my wall panels and trusses to the jobsite. Through the university format structure, I was able to learn a great deal and gained a great amount of confidence in using the program.

First of all I was taught the adjustability for each user. By learning the shortcut keys, and how to adjust them to my own style of design, I understood how much more efficient that I and others could become by using them.  I know that everyone is different and we do not associate thins the same way, so this ability to set MiTek up to suit each taste helps to make it more personal.  The ability to adjust the settings for different parts of the country, and different codes and regulations that are used, really expands the usefulness of the program.  Not only did MiTek University show me how to make the adjustments, but it also helped me to understand where to look for additional adjustments that would help to speed up the design process the next time it came up.

MiTek University has also taught me that the MiTek program is adjustable to:

  • Different structure types
  • Manufacturing processes
  • Construction styles

Let’s face it; with the many different types of architecture and the merging of many of the styles, the program has to take into account a lot. I have learned how to apply linked planes, ceiling planes, quicker ways to input openings, and more efficiently input dormers, all of which help to design the varying structures.

The ability to adjust layouts, webbing and splicing really makes a huge difference to the manufacturing process. These adjustments that I have learned have a great impact on the assembly process and on the bottom line of a truss plant and for the contractor.

I have learned a great deal about using the MiTek software through the university program, and I do believe that this product is a “One Size Fits All”.

Rolin Phillips – Design Trainee

Gould Design, Inc.