Boy Scout Troop 268 and Their Shed’s Construction

My son is an active Boy Scout Troop 268 in Jacksonville, Florida and recently I had an opportunity to make a contribution to the troop. I was contacted by troop leadership to assist with the construction of a new shed for storing camping and other supplies. Having been a member of Pack 268 prior to my son moving up to Troop 268, they knew of my profession. I was honored to be able to make a contribution to the troop that has done so much to help mold my son into a responsible young man.

Here’s a picture of the sheds location before breaking ground:

Breaking-Ground

And here they are pouring the slab into the form boards:

pouring-slab

The materials were delivered around the same time:

building-materials

After the slab cured, it was time to begin framing the walls:

wall-framing

framing-walls

The construction of the shed was done the “old school way” (meaning site framed walls and such, not wall panels):

garage-header

I did encourage them in the use of roof trusses with attic openings to allow for additional storage:

attic-truss

I must admit, it was very nice to see the temporary bracing! On a job this simple, most would have omitted it!

The building was quickly erected and sheathing was applied:

plywood-sheet

I was very grateful to have the opportunity to make a financial and professional contribution to this project knowing that many, many scouts would use it for years to come. Thank you Troop 268 for asking me to help!

Christopher Gould – President

Gould Design, Inc.