When there is a change in leadership in any capacity, people get nervous. We would hardly be human if we did not, right? In my opinion, the amount of that nervousness depends totally on the example of the leader who has exited. Think about it for a minute … is it “Do as I say, not as I do?” Or is it simply “Do as I do?”

leadership-example-mandate

Those who lead by forcing others to do things actively disengage those responsible for their customer’s satisfaction level. Those who lead others by getting their hands dirty earn respect and trust. The difference here is the same as the difference between love and fear. Simply put, no one likes a mandate (fear); rather, they prefer to have an example (love). A good, solid, humble leader’s job is to always be training his/her replacement. Those that don’t probably aren’t qualified to do the job to begin with!

Over the last 11 years (almost to the day), I have been privileged to be the founder of a start-up company named Gould Design, Inc. (GDI) which services the building component industry. GDI’s main focus was on component design services, training of new designers and efficiency consultations for component manufacturers. I have been honored to work with MiTek, dozens of component manufacturers and undoubtedly the best offsite designers in the industry. But the time has come for me to begin writing the next chapter in my life. It is time for me to put more faith in G-d and His Will for me.

What does this mean?

As you may or may not be aware, I have moved on from Gould Design, Inc., the company I founded, and turned over management of GDI to its management team of successors. This should not be cause for alarm for any current or future customers, as GDI will remain as it always has been, but without me at the helm. Other than my departure, nothing has changed. GDI will provide the quality service you expect.

I have spent the last 18 months training my replacement as the leader of GDI and have turned the reigns over to my successor, Operations Manager Bill Hoover. I have done a good job leading Bill by example, not mandate and am confident that Bill will uphold the level of integrity that GDI’s customers expect.

It is a bittersweet thing with mixed feelings for me to leave this company, my baby for such a long time, but it is something that I am passionate about. I am looking to obtain one more job in my lifetime, work the next 20-30 years and bring my skill set to an open-minded, innovative company. The experience I have gained in the last 11 years is going to enable my next employer have a competitive edge.

Thank you to all the people who have supported me over the years. Thank you to the customers who made GDI a nationally recognized brand. Thank you to MiTek for the honor of the relationship. Thank you to the design professionals I have worked with over the years. But most of all, thank you to my family for understanding as I worked through the night, many a night, to meet customer demand and quality.

You see, I have always led by example, not by mandate. This has been the key to my success in whatever position I have ever held in my career. It is the key to my children’s future. It goes into everything I do in my spiritual, personal and business life. And it will continue that way! I am eager to see what G-d has in store for me next!!!

Contact information for the appropriate parties who can assist you at GDI:

Accounting and General Inquiries:

Contact Naida Gould (Owner/CFO) at ngould@goulddesigninc.com (772-708-8064)

Design, Q/A & Project Scheduling:

Contact Tim Hoke (Design/Sales Manager) at thoke@goulddesigninc.com (276-492-8020)

Administration and Appwright Inquiries:

Contact Bill Hoover (Operations Manager) at bhoover@goulddesigninc.com (502-741-9126)

Sales Inquiries or Website Concerns:

Contact the GDI Administrator at admin@goulddesigninc.com

Below is my current contact information:

If you need to reach me, feel free to call.

Christopher Gould – Retired Founder of Gould Design, Inc.

Cell: 772-475-3583

Personal Email: Christopher.gould613@gmail.com