During a long drive to Alabama to avoid Hurricane Irma, my mom asked me if anyone had interest in writing a blog article for her company. Looking around the van my family traveled in, I came up with this idea:

Do you know the feeling when you come back from a road trip and your car is so messy?

road-trip

Well, today I’m going to share with you some tricks for keeping your car clean and neat. I’m also going to share a few ways to keep your kids from driving you crazy during that long road trip. I made up these “hacks” that my family and I used on a road trip to make it as fun as possible. I hope that you will try these out and let us know how they work for you.

  1. If you have a van, some vans have a handlebar that goes up and down. I like to keep a stack of plastic Publix bags and I put one on the handlebar. This will avoid your kids asking you every minute “Mom! Can you throw this away!”.
  2. You always have to keep napkins in the car. These will become really handy. you never know when they will be needed.
  3. Always, you have to have pencils, pens, crayons, etc. in your car. If you have younger children, you might want to keep coloring books. If you have older children (they might also want coloring books too), then you should pack lined paper, colored paper, etc.
  4. DON’T KEEP PLASTIC WATER BOTTLES IN YOUR CAR! THEY CAN CAUSE CANCER! So the next time you go to a thrift store, buy a metal water bottle for 50 cents, fill it with water, and keep it in your car.
  5. Always keep hand sanitizer or baby wipes in your car. These will come very handy when you have snacks if you to eat in the car. Even if you don’t eat in the car, these will still become very handy.
  6. Always keep a pair of flip-flops in your car. This hack will become handy even when you’re not on the road trip. If I got a quarter every time my mom said that we would not need flip-flops, but then we needed flip-flops, I would be rich. All you need to do is go to Dollar Tree or Walmart and buy a pair of flip-flops to keep in the car for your kids.
  7. Always keep toothbrushes and toothpaste on your car. Or you can just keep breath mints in your car. Everyone appreciates fresh breath!
  8. Print out some activities to keep your kids occupied. At the family meeting before our last long road trip, we took the time to write up family “theme songs” that we all sing together when there is some sort of unhappiness. It’s a way to make fun out of mayhem.
  9. Some families (like mine) have a mini DVD player that you can hook up to a car and you can watch a movie. That comes in very handy to occupy your children.
  10. When you’re on a road trip, always bring electronics. Such as iPad, iPhone, laptop, phone, tablet, etc. to occupy your children.
  11. Keep blankets and pillows on your car so your children can sleep in the car ride. You might want to consider using melatonin so your kids will go to sleep faster. Hot Tip: Right now, Walgreens has a sale on melatonin.
  12. If you go to Barnes & Noble, you can find all sorts of neat things, like a lap desk. That’s where I got my lap desk. I bought it a long time ago so it might not be there anymore, but if it is, then you’re in luck. This is such a wonderful invention. It has foam balls where’re you would put it on your knee, and wood where you would write and stuff. Plus, it has a zipper where you can store stuff. Also, they come with cute designs. I have one that has cute owls with flowers.

Well, those were the 12 ways to keep your car efficient and neat in a road trip that I made up for you guys. Tell me what you think in the comments.

Forever peace, love, and hope!

Lucy Gould – 6th Grade

LaVilla School of the Arts